In Features

Do you need a touch of new music? Summer 2017 has got you covered. Have a read of this week’s featured article for some of the most highly anticipated releases expected in June 2017.

SZA – Ctrl (9 June)

Fans have been anxiously awaiting CTRL, expecting a February release. But CTRL now has a release date of June 9 (tomorrow). The track list looks ridiculous with credited support coming from Travis Scott and label mates Kendrick Lamar and Isaiah Rashad.

BROCKHAMPTON – Saturation (9 June)

For those of you that don’t know BROCKHAMPTON are an alternative rap / hip-hop / R&B collective, half the crew (5 including Kevin Abstract most notably) hail from Texas, USA with the remaining members scattered across America with the exception of Ireland’s Bearface. Their debut EP All-American Trash was very reminiscent of early Odd Future, a mixture of flows, go check out Palace, Cotton Hollow and Michigan for the re-up. After sharing the June 9th release date of their upcoming album Saturation, Brockhampton have unveiled the cover and tracklist of the project. The album has a lengthy seventeen tracks, all of which feature one word titles (with all but one containing four words). The artwork and font are reminiscent of old school Odd Future, which gives the project a bit of a cartoon like, comic-book aesthetic.

2 Chainz – Pretty Girls Like Trap Music (16 June)

This has to be one of the most highly anticipated releases of the year.

 Big Boi – Boomiverse (16 June)

Big Boi was on fire when he put out the Big Grams EP with Phantogram, and now he’s ready to release a full album in the form of ‘Boomiverse’. The follow-up to 2012’s Vicious Lies and Dangerous Rumors features Adam Levine, Jeezy and Killer Mike of Run the Jewels. “Mic Jack” features Big Boi rapping in his familiar, speedy Outkast flow. He keeps up with the futurist beat that bounces beneath a steady snare, and when it comes to the chorus, Levine dishes up the funk, as synths glitter like a discoball around a scattered guitar riff. We are also expecting features from Janelle Monae, Travis Scott and Gucci Mane.

DJ Khaled – Grateful (23 June)

In typical DJ Khaled fashion, he’s getting all his celebrity friends to feature on his upcoming 10th studio album. We haven’t really been feeling the first three tracks off this one, ‘Shining’ with Jay Z and Beyonce and also the potential summer anthem ‘I’m The One’ featuring Justin Bieber, Quavo, Chance the Rapper and Lil Wayne and ‘To The Max’ with Drake. The artwork for this project is special with Khaled’s infant son feature  The album is also a family affair in the most literal sense, with Khaled’s infant son Asahd in similar fashion to ‘Ready To Die’ and ‘Tha Carter III’.

Vince Staples – Big Fish Theory (23 June)

Not much is known about Vince Staples’ sophomore album Big Fish Theory, besides the fact that it’s following up his critically acclaimed debut album, Summertime ’06. The cunning rapper with the normcore style has been known to have an opinion on everything, but on the new track, “Big Fish,” which features uncredited vocals from Juicy J. Watch this space.

Action Bronson – Blue Chips 7000 (23 June)

The very underrated has teased for pretty much two years now, so we are expecting big things. 2015’s Mr Wonderful release was a special moment for Action, perhaps he’s dining off the fame that has garnished (forgive the awful puns).

Calvin Harris – Funk Wav Bounces Vol. 1 (30 June)

We wouldn’t normally post about the imminent release of a Calvin Harris album, but this is impossible to ignore. Challenging DJ Khaled for his contribution list, ‘Funk Wav Bounces Vol. 1’ will feature  Ariana Grande, Big Sean, D.R.A.M., Frank Ocean, Future, Jessie Reyez, John Legend, Katy Perry, Kehlani, Khalid, Lil Yachty, Migos, Nicki Minaj, PartyNextDoor, Pharrell Williams, Schoolboy Q, Snoop Dogg, Travis Scott and Young Thug.

 Beach House – B-Sides and Rarities (30 June)

Consistently haunting and ethereal sounding, Beach House offer overall satisfaction to fans and critics alike. and overall satisfying to their fans and critics alike. On 17 May, they announced on their Facebook page, that on June 30, they will release the B-sides and Rarities album, which is a 14-track anthology of songs from across their six-album career.

The album will feature two previously unreleased tracks ‘Chariot’ and ‘Baseball Diamond’, both of which were recorded throughout the Depression Cherry and Thank Your Lucky Stars sessions, and were released within two months of each other in 2015. Have a listen to ‘Chariot’ below.

Recommended Posts

Leave a Comment